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CHAPTER 821. TEXAS PAYDAY RULES 1 
 2 
ADOPTED RULES TO BE PUBLISHED IN THE TEXAS REGISTER. THIS 3 

DOCUMENT WILL HAVE NO SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES BUT IS SUBJECT TO 4 
FORMATTING CHANGES AS REQUIRED BY THE OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY 5 
OF STATE. 6 
 7 

ON NOVEMBER 7, 2022, THE TEXAS WORKFORCE COMMISSION ADOPTED THE 8 
RULES BELOW WITH PREAMBLE TO BE SUBMITTED TO THE TEXAS REGISTER. 9 
 10 
Publication Date of the Adoption in the Texas Register: November 25, 2022 11 

The Rules are Effective: November 28, 2022 12 
 13 
The Texas Workforce Commission ("TWC" or "Agency") adopts the repeal of the following 14 
section in Chapter 821, relating to Texas Payday Rules:  15 

 16 
Subchapter C, Wage Claims, §821.45 17 

 18 
TWC adopts the following new sections to Chapter 821, relating to Texas Payday Rules:  19 

 20 
Subchapter C. Wage Claims, §821.48 and §821.49 21 

 22 
The repeal and new sections are adopted without changes to the proposal, as published in the 23 

September 9, 2022, issue of the Texas Register (47 TexReg 5468), and, therefore, the adopted 24 
rule text will not be published. 25 
 26 
PART I. PURPOSE, BACKGROUND, AND AUTHORITY 27 

The purpose of the adopted Chapter 821 rule change is to modify the chapter to allow the 28 
Agency's Labor Law department to reissue determinations. 29 
 30 
Under Texas Labor Code, Chapter 61, also referred to as the Texas Payday Law, the Texas 31 

Legislature granted the Agency authority to adjudicate wage claims and issue preliminary wage 32 
determination orders (PWDOs). After issuing a PWDO, the parties have 21 days to appeal. If no 33 
appeal is filed, then the order becomes final "for all purposes." If appealed, the Wage Claim 34 
Appeal Tribunal (WCAT) will hold a hearing and issue a decision. The WCAT decision 35 

becomes final 14 days after mailing unless a party appeals to TWC's three-member Commission 36 
(Commission). A decision of the Commission becomes final 14 days after mailing unless a party 37 
files a Motion for Rehearing or for judicial review of the Commission's decision. 38 
 39 

The Texas Payday Law and TWC rules do not state whether the Agency may reissue a corrected 40 
PWDO. Currently, when an error is made on the PWDO or additional information becomes 41 
available between issuance of the PWDO and when the decision is final, there is no clear 42 
authority for the Agency to issue a corrected PWDO. This can result in costly appeal hearings to 43 

resolve minor clerical errors. 44 
 45 
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In statute and rule related to unemployment claims, the Agency has similar authority to that 1 
adopted in this rulemaking. Texas Labor Code, §212.054 allows for an examiner to issue a 2 
redetermination of an unemployment determination if there is an error or upon the discovery of 3 

new information. The examiner has 14 days from the mailing date of the original determination 4 
to issue the redetermination. The 14 days includes the period prior to the original determination 5 
becoming final. An unemployment examiner may issue a redetermination to correct a clerical or 6 
machine error at any time during a claimant's benefit year. 7 

 8 
Title 40 Texas Administrative Code (TAC) §815.16(6)(B) allows the Appeal Tribunal for 9 
unemployment hearings to issue a corrected decision as follows:  10 
 11 

"At any time during the 14-day period from the date a decision on an appeal is mailed, 12 
unless a party of interest has already appealed to the Commission, the appeal tribunal or 13 
the supervisor of appeals may assume continuing jurisdiction over the appeal for the 14 
purpose of reconsidering the issues on appeal and issuing a corrected decision. During the 15 

period in which continuing jurisdiction is assumed, the appeal tribunal, after notice to the 16 
parties, may take any additional evidence or secure any additional information it deems 17 
necessary to issue a decision." 18 

 19 

Clear written authority in rule would allow TWC to exercise plenary power over decisions which 20 
have mailed but are not yet final. As adopted, TWC would not exercise this authority if an appeal 21 
has been filed. A reissued PWDO would void and replace any prior incorrect PWDOs, and the 22 
appeal period would start again allowing either party 21 days to file an appeal from the mailing 23 

date of the reissued PWDO.  24 
 25 
Texas Payday Law appeals rules and procedures are governed by current rule 40 TAC §821.45, 26 
which incorporates the rules and hearing procedures set out in TWC's Unemployment Insurance 27 

rules at 40 TAC Chapter 815, except to the extent that such sections are clearly inapplicable or 28 
contrary to provisions set out under the Texas Payday Rules or the Texas Payday Act.  29 
 30 
Finally, Texas Government Code, §2001.039 requires that every four years each state agency 31 

review and consider for readoption, revision, or repeal each rule adopted by that agency. TWC 32 
reviewed the rules in Chapter 821 and determined that the rules are needed, reflect current legal 33 
and policy considerations, and reflect current TWC procedures. The reasons for initially adopting 34 
the rules continue to exist and any changes to the rules are described in Part II of this preamble.  35 

 36 
PART II. EXPLANATION OF INDIVIDUAL PROVISIONS   37 
 38 
SUBCHAPTER C. WAGE CLAIMS   39 

TWC adopts the following amendments to Subchapter C: 40 
 41 
§821.45. Appeals. 42 
Section 821.45 is repealed and the language is moved to new §821.49. 43 

 44 
§821.48. Corrected Preliminary Wage Determination Order 45 
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New §821.48 provides that if an examiner discovers an error or receives additional information 1 
not previously available when the determination was made, the examiner may reconsider and 2 
reissue the PWDO within the 21-day period provided for in Texas Labor Code, §61.054. 3 

 4 
New §821.48 is necessary to allow for a full and factually correct PWDO to be rendered to the 5 
parties when an error is made or additional information becomes available before the decision 6 
becomes final. New §821.48 provides payday examiners with similar authority to unemployment 7 

examiners, albeit with a 21-day redetermination period per Texas Labor Code, §61.054. Similar 8 
to 40 TAC §815.16(6)(B), if a timely appeal is filed within the 21-day period, the Labor Law 9 
department would no longer have authority to reissue a corrected PWDO once that appeal is 10 
filed. Labor Law staff determined this to be a best practice to avoid interference with any actions 11 

the WCAT may have already taken with the filing of the appeal. The reissued PWDO would 12 
supersede any previous incorrect PWDOs. Either party would then have 21 days from the 13 
mailing date of the most recent reissued PWDO to file an appeal. 14 
 15 

New §821.48 includes a caveat for instances in which the examiner has mailed the PWDO to a 16 
party's wrong address. This would only apply to errors made by the examiner, and not to 17 
situations in which the party provided the Agency with the wrong address. 18 
 19 

§821.49. Appeals. 20 
New §821.49 replaces repealed §821.45. The language in §821.45 is moved to new §821.49 to 21 
logically follow the corrected PWDO process in the rules. 22 
 23 

TWC hereby certifies that the adoption has been reviewed by legal counsel and found to be 24 
within TWC's legal authority to adopt. 25 
 26 
PART III. PUBLIC COMMENTS 27 

The public comment period closed on October 10, 2022. No comments were received.  28 
 29 
PART IV. STATUTORY AUTHORITY 30 
The rules are adopted under Texas Labor Code, §61.002(a)(2), which allows TWC to adopt rules 31 

as necessary to implement Texas Labor Code, Chapter 61.  32 
  33 
The adopted rules affect Texas Labor Code, Chapter 61.  34 
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CHAPTER 821. TEXAS PAYDAY RULES 1 
 2 

SUBCHAPTER C. WAGE CLAIMS 3 

 4 
§821.48. Corrected Preliminary Wage Determination Order. 5 

 6 
(a)   If an examiner discovers an error in connection with a preliminary wage 7 

determination order or discovers additional information not previously available, the 8 
examiner, within the period specified in §61.054 of the Act may reconsider and 9 
reissue the preliminary wage determination order, unless a party has already filed an 10 
appeal. 11 

 12 
(b)   An examiner's reissued preliminary wage determination order voids and replaces the 13 

order requiring correction. A reissued preliminary wage determination order 14 
becomes final unless a party files an appeal from the reissued preliminary wage 15 

determination order within the period specified in §61.054 of the Act. The period to 16 
request an appeal shall begin on the date the examiner mails the reissued preliminary 17 
wage determination order. 18 

 19 

(c)   Notwithstanding subsection (a) of this section, if an examiner mails a preliminary 20 
wage determination order to a party's incorrect address solely because of the 21 
examiner's own error, the examiner may reissue a preliminary wage determination 22 
order to the party's correct address at any time. 23 

 24 
§821.49. Appeals. 25 

 26 
(a)   If either party files an appeal to a preliminary wage determination order, the 27 

Commission shall consider all issues, including the amount of wages in controversy.  28 
 29 
(b)   The Commission shall hear all timely requests for reopening and grant such requests 30 

if it appears the petitioner has shown good cause for the petitioner's failure to appear 31 

at the prior hearing. 32 
 33 
(c)   Hearings conducted under the Act are subject to the rules and hearing procedures set 34 

out in Chapter 815 of this title (relating to Unemployment Insurance), except to the 35 

extent that such sections are clearly inapplicable or contrary to provisions set out 36 
under this chapter or under the Act. 37 


