
Child Care Services: 
Entry Level Designation



An early learning program is eligible to participate in 
the CCS program if:

• The program is licensed or registered by
Child Care Regulation (CCR);

• Is not on corrective or adverse action with CCR;
• Does not exceed the points threshold for CCR

deficiencies incurred within the most recent
12-months; and

• Agrees to work with a mentor towards
Texas Rising Star certification.

Early learning programs that are relative providers 
or regulated by the US military are also eligible to 
participate.

If you are not currently eligible to participate in 
the CCS program, contact your Local Workforce 

Development Board for assistance.

Am I Eligible to Participate 
in the CCS Program?

Depository Law and are available 

The Texas Workforce Commission (TWC) CCS 
program provides child care scholarships for 
low-income families. As a CCS provider, your early 
learning program can assist these families in  
providing care to their children while they go to work 
or attend school.

What is Child Care 
Services (CCS)?



Timeline 
Requirements

Entry Level programs are committed to achieving 
at least Two-Star certification within two years of 
receiving their designation.

Your clock begins – once your 
program is Entry Level 
designated and you sign a CCS 
Agreement with the Board, 
you’re assigned a mentor to help 
you achieve at least a Two-Star 
certification.

Time to check in – 12 months into 
the two-year timeline, your program 
will be screened* for certification 
eligibility.

• If eligible, your program will be scheduled for a
Texas Rising Star assessment.

• If not eligible, continue working towards eligibility.

Final check in – 18 months into the 
two-year timeline, your program 
will be re-screened* for certification 
eligibility.

• If eligible, your program will be scheduled for a
Texas Rising Star assessment.

• If not eligible, continue working towards eligibility
for the remaining 6 months of the two-year
timeline.

You Did It – achieve at least 
Two-Star certification by the end of 
the two-year timeline.

• Failure to comply will result in termination of the
CCS agreement.

• Programs who fail to comply may qualify for an
extension. Speak to your Board to determine if
your program meets the specified criteria for an
extension.
(*) your program can be screened sooner than

the timeline noted

For more information about Texas Rising Star 
eligibility, please visit 

www.TexasRisingStar.org/providers

• 

www.TexasRisingStar.org/providers


CCS 
Benefits

Points Threshold of 75 or lower

Entry Level programs will have access to:
• Professional development
• One-on-one mentoring
• Other benefits, such as grants, stipends, materials

and equipment

•  Higher child care reimbursement rate
To view reimbursement rates across the state, visit
www.TexasRisingStar.org/providers/enhanced-rates/

• Additional benefits, such as grants, stipends, materials
and equipment

• Free advertisement to parents and the community

An early learning program’s licensing history (up to the most 
recent 12 months) will be reviewed. Points will be given to 
any high and medium-high deficiencies found.

• Each high weighted deficiency is worth 5 points
• Each medium-high weighted deficiency is worth 3 points

If an early learning program has an initial permit or has 
less than 12 months of licensing history, the points will be 
assigned based on the licensing history that is available.

Once you reach Two-Star or above

Four-Star

Three-Star

Two-Star

Progression of Growth

Entry-Level

www.TexasRisingStar.org/providers/enhanced-rates/


Raising Your 
Star Level

Ready to Become 
Texas Rising Star Certified?

Contact your Board or visit  
www.TexasRisingStar.org/getting-ready 

for more information on certification.

We’re here to help you reach for more stars! 
Most early learning programs are already 
meeting or exceeding most Texas Rising Star 
measures.

It doesn’t take much time or paperwork 
to get started

Trained mentors are available to help  
you through the certification process.  
The mentor can help create achievable 
goals and processes to ensure you 
are successful.

You will not be required to hire more 
teachers or teachers with degrees

Classroom ratios and staff qualifications  
are only two measures within the total 
scored, so their impact to the overall star 
level is minimal. Also, teachers working in 
Texas Rising Star programs are eligible for 
educational support such as grants, stipends, 
scholarships, and may receive preferred 
enrollment in higher-education initiatives.

It pays to be Texas Rising Star!

Check out our revenue calculator at  
www.texasrisingstar.org/providers/ 
enhanced-rates/ to see how 
financially beneficial being certified 
could be for  your program.

www.TexasRisingStar.org/getting-ready
www.TexasRisingStar.org/providers/enhanced-rates/


Please visit www.TexasRisingStar.org for 
more information about how you can apply.

For more information, contact your  
Local Workforce Development Board at:

Equal Opportunity Employer/Program.  
Auxiliary aids and services are available upon 

request to individuals with disabilities. 
Relay Texas: 800-735-2989 (TTY)  

and 711 (Voice).

Copies of this publication (09/2022) have been 
distributed in compliance with the Texas State 

Depository Law and are available for public use 
through the Texas State Publications 

Depository Program at the Texas State Library 
and other state depository libraries.

www.TexasRisingStar.org

www.TexasRisingStar.org
www.TexasRisingStar.org
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