- How can I contact the Texas Workforce Commission HUB (Historically Underutilized Business) coordinator?
- Who is eligible to be certified as a HUB (Historically Underutilized Business) with the state?
- How does a vendor initiate the certification process and for what length of time is the certification valid?
- Which agency is responsible for HUB certification and how long does it take to certify a vendor?
- Are state agencies required to attain a specific goal for HUB spending?
- Is there a certain length of time a business needs to be in operation before getting HUB certification?
- If a company does not qualify as a HUB, what can that vendor do to sell to the agency and to the state?
- If a vendor is certified as a HUB and is on the HUB Directory, why pay $70 to get on the CMBL?
- How is the TWC making a "good faith effort" to assist HUBs?
- What are the specific bidding requirements the agency must follow?
- How are vendors selected to bid on goods and services for the agency?
- As a HUB vendor am I required to complete the HUB Subcontracting Plan that was part of the bid package?
1. How can I contact the Texas Workforce Commission HUB (Historically Underutilized Business) coordinator?
Call (512) 463-2483 or e-mail TWCHUBinfo@twc.state.tx.us.
2. Who is eligible to be certified as a HUB (Historically Underutilized Business) with the State?
A. A business which is at least 51% owned by a minority or woman.
B. has been socially disadvantaged because of their identification as members of the following groups: (See HUB Definition and Goals)
3. How does a vendor initiate the certification process and for what length of time is the certification valid?
Complete a Historically Underutilized Business (HUB) Certification Application with the Comptroller of Public Accounts (CPA). The initial certification is valid for a four-year period beginning on the date the applicant was certified by CPA. Upon expiration, a HUB must be re-certified according to CPA procedures.
4. Which agency is responsible for HUB certification and how long does it take to certify a vendor?
The Comptroller of Public Accounts (CPA) is responsible for HUB certification. The process takes 30 to 60 days from the time the application is received at CPA.
5. Are state agencies required to attain a specific goal for HUB spending?
The Texas Legislature requires state agencies to make a good faith effort to help HUBs receive a portion of the total contract value of all contracts. During the fiscal year a state agency is expected to meet the following percentages:
- 11.9% for heavy construction other than building contracts;
- 26.1% for all other building construction, including general contractors and operative builders contracts;
- 57.2% for all special trade construction contracts;
- 20% for professional services contracts;
- 33% for all other services contracts; and
- 12.6% for commodities contracts.
6. Is there a certain length of time a business needs to be in operation before getting HUB certification?
No. A new business needs to follow new business requirements in the HUB application.
7. If a company does not qualify as a HUB, what can that vendor do to sell to the agency and to the state?
You must be listed in the CPA's Centralized Master Bidders List (CMBL), and you should determine which agencies may need your goods/services and market to them.
8. If a vendor is certified as a HUB and is on the HUB Directory, why pay $100 to get on the CMBL?
Purchasers are required to choose vendors from the CMBL for all purchases over $5,000. In order to receive Invitation for Bids (IFBs) and other solicitation documents for those larger opportunities a vendor must be on the CMBL.
9. How is TWC making a "good faith effort" to assist HUBs?
TWC purchasers solicit bids for all purchases other than direct publications and sole source suppliers from HUB vendors listed on CPA's HUB Directory and Centralized Master Bidders List.
HUB vendors are also important in the subcontracting process. TWC requires prime contractors to identify and report dollars spent on HUB subcontractors and material suppliers with whom they work to execute an agency contract. By reporting subcontractor purchases each month, prime contractors help the agency meet legislative HUB goals.
10. What are the specific bidding requirements the agency must follow?
- Spot Purchases ($0.01 to $5,000.00)
A purchase order can be issued upon receipt of a quotation from a single bidder.
- Informal Bids ($5,000.01 to $25,000.00)
Purchases for these dollar values require competitive bids, which may be solicited over the telephone from a minimum of three bidders listed on the CMBL, at least two of which must me certified HUBs.
- Open Market (Over $25,000 for goods and $100,000 for services)
CPA must review open market bids for all state agencies prior to advertisement.
- State Contract
TWC must use term contracts established by CPA for purchasing products and/or services that meet our requirements. Vendors should contact CPA regarding contract opportunities.
- DIR Contract
TWC must buy all computer and telephone goods and services from Department of Information Resources (DIR) contract or receive an exemption.
11. How are vendors selected to bid on goods and services for the agency?
There are several criteria. First, TWC will select vendors who selected the class(es) and item(s) of the goods or services needed. Next, TWC will select vendors who will sell in the geographical region where we need the goods or services. Texas is divided into 24 geographical districts. When an applicant completes a CMBL/HUB Certification Application, a vendor may elect to bid in all or individual districts by so indicating. Bid invitations for commodity classes and items selected by the applicant will be mailed only for the districts designated on the application. Two branches of the same company may bid in the same district if they are bidding on different items. Finally, TWC will select among all bidders who meet all our criteria that vendor who offers the best value to the state.
12. As a HUB vendor am I required to complete the HUB Subcontracting Plan that was part of the bid package?
Yes, you are. Failure to complete and return the HSP with your bid or offer will disqualify your bid. Follow the HSP instructions and note that you are a HUB. State that you either do or do not plan to subcontract part of the work. If you plan to subcontract, make sure that either you complete 25% of the work yourself (in which case, we get 100% HUB credit), or you subcontract to other HUBs.