On this page:
Employers are required to report Unemployment Insurance (UI) wages and pay quarterly UI taxes electronically, as set forth in Texas Workforce Commission (TWC) Rules 815.107 and 815.109. TWC will continue to work diligently with employers who need assistance complying with these Rules, however employers must remember that failing to file and pay electronically may subject them to penalties as prescribed in Sections 213.023 and 213.024 of the Texas Unemployment Compensation Act (TUCA). Any employer paying $250,000.00 or more in tax liability in a state fiscal year (September 1st through August 31st) is required to pay by electronic funds transfer.
Electronic Payment Methods
TWC offers three electronic methods for payment of unemployment taxes:
Online payments are quick, easy and secure through the Unemployment Tax Services or TEXNET Electronic File Transfer (EFT) systems. The TEXNET system also allows payment by phone. The Unemployment Tax Services system allows payment by ACH debit and credit card. Payment using ACH debit is free.
Other Payment Methods
The Check, Cashier’s Check, Money Order and Cash payment options are only authorized for use by employers who have approved hardship waivers on file with the Commission.
A hardship waiver is granted to employers who either:
For additional information about waivers or filing your report or paying your taxes electronically, please contact your nearest tax office.
ACH debit is a free electronic service that allows employers to initiate the transfer of money from their financial institution to pay unemployment taxes to TWC.
Using ACH debit requires registration to access the Unemployment Tax Services system. During the quick and simple registration process, you create a User ID and password to use each time you access the online system. To register and to learn about other online services, visit Unemployment Tax Services.
Users other than account administrators must have the necessary permission granted to make an ACH debit payment in Unemployment Tax Services.
TEXNET, the state of Texas electronic payment network, allows employers to submit their tax payments using EFT. For additional information, visit the TWC Payment Instructions for TEXNET EFT.
Any employer may choose to transfer current tax payments by EFT using the Texas Comptroller of Public Account’s TEXNET system. However, employers paying $250,000.00 or more in tax liability in a state fiscal year (September 1st through August 31st) are required to make payments by EFT.
TEXNET users register by accessing the Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts website https://texnet.cpa.state.tx.us or by calling the TEXNET Hotline at 1-800-636-4003.
Log on to the TEXNET system and enter payment information, or call 800-636-4003 and follow the phone prompts.
Payments must be scheduled by 6:00 p.m. Central Time (CT) on the business day before the payment due date to be considered timely.
For questions regarding formatting and transmitting payment records, or changes to contact or banking information, contact the State Comptroller of Public Accounts at 800-531-5441, extension 3-3010.
For general questions about TEXNET EFT payment, contact the Texas Workforce Commission Revenue and Trust Management Department at 512-936-0300 or by email at email@example.com.
Submit your quarterly unemployment tax payments using your American Express, Discover, MasterCard or Visa credit card. You make credit card payments via the Unemployment Tax Services system, but the service is provided by Texas.gov, the official state of Texas website. The price of the online payment by credit card service includes funds that support the ongoing operations and enhancements of Texas.gov, which is provided by a third party in partnership with the State. Those funds are not part of the TWC tax payment amount and are not kept by TWC.
Employers who are not required to pay using EFT or who have an approved hardship waiver on file with TWC may make a payment by mail using a check, cashier’s check or money order.
Payments may be hand delivered to a representative of the Tax Department at any of our local tax offices or mailed to the Texas Workforce Commission at:
Texas Workforce Commission
P.O. Box 149037
Austin, TX 78714-9037
Cash is an accepted payment method for quarterly tax liabilities and other tax-related charges for employers who are not required to pay using EFT or who have an approved hardship waiver on file with TWC.
Payments must be made during regular TWC business hours.
If your tax account is secured by a tax lien, judgment or assessment, the amount of time required for a release varies with the tax payment option you choose.
For assistance regarding releases, call the TWC Collections Section at 512- 463-9698 or email firstname.lastname@example.org.