D-651: Transitional Child Care Eligibility

Workforce Development Boards (Boards) must be aware that a parent is eligible for Transitional child care services if the parent:

  • Has been denied Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) and was employed at the time of TANF denial, or
  • Has been denied TANF within 30 days because of expiration of TANF time limits and
  • Requires child care to work or attend job training or an educational program for a combination of at least an average of 25 hours per week for a single-parent family or 50 hours per week for a two-parent family, or a higher number of hours per week as established by the Board.

- Rule Reference: §809.48(a)

Boards may establish an income eligibility limit for Transitional child care that is higher than the eligibility limit for At-Risk child care described in D-201: At-Risk Child Care, provided that the higher income limit does not exceed 85 percent of the state median income (SMI) for a family of the same size.  (As required by Texas Workforce Commission rule at 40 TAC §802.1(f) and as detailed in WD Letter 10-07 PDF, Board members must take such actions in an open meeting.)

- Rule Reference: §809.48(b)

Return to Top

D-652: Former TANF Recipients Employed at TANF Denial

Workforce Development Boards must ensure that for former Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) recipients who are employed when TANF is denied, Transitional child care is available for a period of up to:

  • 12 months from the effective date of the TANF denial
  • 18 months from the effective date of the TANF denial in the case of a former TANF recipient who was eligible for child caretaker exemptions pursuant to Texas Human Resources Code §31.012(c) and who voluntarily participates in the Choices program

- Rule Reference: §809.48(c)

Return to Top

D-653: Calculating Activity Hours & Activity-Hour Reductions for Transitional Child Care

Workforce Development Boards must be aware that the methodology for calculating activity hours, including activity hours for self-employed parents as described in D-202: Calculating Activity Hours and D-202.c: Work Hours for Self-Employed Individuals, and the reduction of activity hours described in D-202.b: Allowable Reductions in Activity Hours, also apply to Transitional child care.

- Rule Reference: §809.48(f)-(g)

Return to Top

D-654: In Loco Parentis for Transitional Child Care

Workforce Development Boards (Boards) must be aware that former Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) recipients eligible for Transitional child care are assumed to meet the definition of a parent, including the requirements for an individual standing in loco parentis, for each child who was listed on their TANF grant.

If an individual receiving Transitional child care requests child care for a child who was not listed on the TANF grant, Board must ensure that the individual meets the in loco parentis documentation requirements in D-105.c: In Loco Parentis for that child before authorizing Transitional child care.

Return to Top

D-655: Choices Child Care and Transitional Child Care

Boards must be aware that former Choices participants who have been denied Temporary Assistance for Needy Families are eligible to continue their Choices Child Care 12-month eligibility period. Once a parent’s 12-month eligibility under Choices Child Care has ended, the parent’s eligibility is determined for Transitional child care. At the end of a Transitional child care 12-month eligibility period, the parent’s eligibility is determined for At-Risk child care.

Return to Top

Part A - Definitions

Part H - Consumer Education and Child Care Quality Activities

Part J - Appendix