On this page:
While it is important to work with your counselor, there may be times when you and your counselor do not agree on a course of action. You can usually work this out by talking to your counselor and also ask to meet with the area manager.
If you cannot agree on an issue that you believe is important to your success, your counselor or the area manager will discuss the options available to address your concerns.
Your options for review of decisions made regarding your services include:
To request a review of a determination that affects the provision of services with which you do not agree, you must make your request within 180 days of the date the determination was made.
TWC must hold a hearing within 60 days of your request for a review of the decision, unless any of the following occurs:
We hope you have tried to work out your disagreement with your counselor. However, if you are not satisfied with the results, you have the right to request a due process hearing. At this hearing, your concerns are heard and a decision is made by an impartial hearing officer.
At any meeting, you may bring someone to help you with your concerns. If you plan to have someone represent you in your hearing, you must submit a Designation of Applicant or Consumer Representative form with the hearings coordinator. You can get that form from the hearings coordinator.
Even though you have requested a due process hearing, the appeal can still be resolved informally at any time.
These are the steps for a due process hearing:
You will receive a written copy of the impartial hearing officer’s decision within 30 days of the hearing completion date. The decision must be consistent with federal and state regulations.
If you do not agree with the impartial hearing officer’s decision, you have 20 days to file a motion for reconsideration. If the hearing officer denies your request, you will have 30 days to appeal the decision to any court of competent jurisdiction.
The Client Assistance Program (CAP) has been established by the Rehabilitation Act to provide assistance to people applying for and receiving vocational rehabilitation services or independent living services.
CAP is available to assist:
CAP is also available to:
To request CAP assistance, call 800-252-9108.
In Texas, CAP is administered by Disability Rights Texas, a private, nonprofit organization that is not part of a state agency. Discussions with consumers are kept confidential.
2222 W Braker Ln
Austin, TX 78758
1500 McGowen, Suite 100
Houston, TX 77004
300 E Main, Suite 205
El Paso, TX 79901
1420 W Mockingbird Ln, Suite 450
Dallas, TX 75247-4932
6800 Park Ten Blvd., Suite 208-N
San Antonio, TX 78213
4747 South Loop 289, Suite 120
Lubbock, Texas 79424
Contact TWC Vocational Rehabilitation Inquiries