Take Charge of Business at the Texas Business Conference in Laredo

Date - January 27, 2017

Meda Contact: Lisa Givens
Phone: 512-463-8556

AUSTIN ⎯ The Texas Workforce Commission (TWC) invites Laredo–area employers, human resource professionals, business owners and managers to attend the Texas Business Conference employment law update on February 17 at the Laredo Community College Economic Development Center in Laredo. The conference will provide valuable information for employers and business owners concerning the legal issues associated with operating a business in Texas.

“We are committed to providing employers the information they need to succeed,” said TWC Commissioner Representing Employers Ruth R. Hughs. “The Texas Business Conference brings valuable resources to effectively navigate employers through state and federal employment laws.”

Employers receive practical, up-to-date information for operating a successful business and learn techniques to more effectively manage employees. Seminar topics include: Texas employment law and the basics of hiring; federal and Texas wage and hour laws; the unemployment claim and appeal process; independent contractors; and employee policy handbooks. Participants will receive the latest edition of the popular publication, Especially for Texas Employers, which addresses basic legal issues regarding hiring, post-employment and work-separation policies.

The Society for Human Resource Management Texas State Council (Texas SHRM) is co-sponsoring the Texas Business Conferences and offering professional development and Human Resources Certification Institute (HRCI) recertification credits for human resources professionals attending the conferences. Certificates for the Texas SHRM Professional Development Credits will be handed out to those attending the Texas Business Conference. Also, attorneys may receive up to 5.5 hours of MCLE credit (no ethics hours) if they attend the entire conference. In addition, certified public accountants who attend can earn six hours of continuing education credit, and other conference participants may qualify for general professional credit.

The conference is Friday from 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. at the Laredo Community College Economic Development Center, Fort McIntosh Campus located at West End Washington St. in Laredo. Attendees may check in from 7:30 a.m. to 8:30 a.m. The cost to attend is $125 per person and is nonrefundable. Space is limited, so participants are encouraged to register as soon as possible. For more information, call 512-463-6389. Participants may register online or download a registration form at the Texas Business Conference webpage.

Texas Business Conferences occur several times a year at locations throughout the state. For a complete list of dates, visit the Texas Business Conference webpage. More information about the resources available to Texas employers can be found on the webpage of the Commissioner Representing Employers.

### dhp                       

The Texas Workforce Commission is a state agency dedicated to helping Texas employers, workers and communities prosper economically. For details on TWC and the services it offers in coordination with its network of local workforce development boards, call 512-463-8942 or visit texasworkforce.org. To receive notifications about TWC programs and services subscribe to our email updates.

Texas Workforce Commission • 512-463-8942 • www.texasworkforce.org • Equal Opportunity Employer/Program
Auxiliary aids and services are available upon request to individuals with disabilities.
Relay Texas: 800-735-2988 (TDD) or 711 (Voice)

 

Return to Top