Welcome, we're here to help.
Resources, tips and tools to build a stronger Texas workforce.
On this page:
You commit fraud if you knowingly provide false or misleading information or withhold relevant information for yourself or another person, to obtain or increase benefits. Unemployment benefits fraud is punishable by law, both felony and misdemeanor, and violators could face serious penalties and consequences. Be aware that:
You may be committing fraud if you:
To detect fraud, we compare what you report with other sources to verify the accuracy. If you don’t correctly report your work after being hired, TWC will find out.
If you receive unemployment benefits, you are legally responsible for following state and federal law.
If you commit unemployment fraud, you must pay back benefits you were not entitled to receive plus a 15 percent penalty on benefits you fraudulently received. In addition, you could face a variety of penalties, including:
You are not eligible for benefits you received after the first incident of fraud. For example, if you did not correctly report earnings for 10 weeks, you are not eligible for the benefits you received from the first week you misreported earnings all the way through the end of your claim.
Last Verified: December 13, 2013
Auxiliary aids and services are available upon request to individuals with disabilities.
Deaf, hard-of-hearing or speech-impaired customers may contact Relay Texas: 800-735-2989 (TTY) and 711 (Voice). Equal opportunity is the law.
Texas Workforce Commission Values: Community, Responsibility, Innovation, Accountability, Commitment to Excellence and Partnership.