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Calendar Year 2024 Late Refund Penalty Rate  1 

Career Schools and Colleges 2 

Discussion Paper 3 

Background 4 

Texas Education Code §132.061(b) requires a career school or college to pay student refunds 5 

within a 60-day period. A career school or college that fails to do so must pay a penalty. Section 6 

132.061 also requires that the Texas Workforce Commission annually establish this penalty at a 7 

level sufficient to act as a deterrent to the retention of refunds. On September 1, 1990, the annual 8 

rate of the penalty payment was set at the prime interest rate plus 10 percent. This rate, which 9 

was approximately 20 percent at the time, had no discernible impact on the timely repayment of 10 

student refunds. Therefore, the rate was increased to 250 percent, effective January 1, 1992. An 11 

example of how the late refund penalty rate is calculated follows:  12 

• $1,800 refund x 2.5 = $4,500 annual rate  13 

• $4,500 annual rate ÷ 365 = $12.33 daily rate (effective the first day after the 60-day 14 

refund period) 15 

Penalties paid are used to repay any:  16 

• remaining amount of the student’s loans; 17 

• tuition and fees paid by the Board; and  18 

• cash payments made by the student. 19 

Any money remaining after the above-mentioned payments have been made is deposited into the 20 

Tuition Trust Account for the benefit of all students. 21 

The current penalty rate expires on December 31, 2023, and the newly established rate is 22 

effective on January 1, 2024. 23 

Section 132.061 imposes no additional costs on schools operating in accordance with the law. 24 

Issue: Impact of the Rate 25 

The 250 percent rate has proven effective in encouraging career schools and colleges to pay 26 

student refunds in the required timely manner. The sum of late refunds has steadily decreased 27 

from approximately $400,000 in 1991 to a negligible amount in recent years. 28 

Decision Point 29 

Staff seeks direction on maintaining the penalty rate for late refunds to students at the current 30 

annual rate of 250 percent for Calendar Year 2024. This will ensure that career schools and 31 

colleges continue to pay student refunds within the 60-day time frame required by statute. 32 


